KNOWLEDGE BASE National Public Holidays In Ireland

The information on this page was current at the time it was published. Regulations, trends, statistics, and other information are constantly changing. While we strive to update our Knowledge Base, we strongly suggest you use these pages as a general guide and be sure to verify any regulations, statistics, guidelines, or other information that are important to your efforts.


National Public Holidays in Ireland

There are 9 public holidays in Ireland each year. On a public holiday, sometimes called a bank holiday, most businesses and schools are closed. Other services, such as public transport, still operate but often with limited schedules. The list of public holidays each year is as follows:

New Year's Day (1 January)

St. Patrick's Day (17 March)

Easter Monday

First Monday in May, June, August

Last Monday in October

Christmas Day (25 December)

St. Stephen's Day (26 December)

Good Friday is not a public holiday. While some schools and businesses close on that day, employees have no automatic entitlement to time off work on that day.

KNOWLEDGE BASE National Public Holidays In Ireland